POMC: New Orleans Square

In a new series for this blog I would like to share with you a POMC. (Piece of My Collection).

Ever since I can remember, New Orleans Square has always been my favorite section of Disneyland. I tend to gravitate that direction every time I enter the park, and STILL never feel like I get enough time there.

From the food options, to the beautiful surroundings of the French quarter which borders the scenic Rivers of America and the Mark Twain, to the shade on a hot day, there is little not to love about this unique section of the park.

Uniqueness is also a pre-requisite for MOST of my pin collection. Unique does not necessarily mean that it is limited edition or hard to find, but rather the qualities of the pin, the wow factor, or the oddities that spur conversations.

This is an example of such a pin. This pin is hands down my collection favorite to this point.

I was fishing around EBay one evening when I bumped into this pin. I believe my first reaction was “What the heck is this?”

Yes, the colors are as out of place as they look. Purple, violet, line green, navy blue, bright yellow. What an eyesore!

Looking closer though you really start to get a sense of what this pin is about. It celebrates the uniqueness of New Orleans Square and all its features including Pirates of the Caribbean, the Haunted Mansion, and even the Blue Bayou!

This pin just evokes so many great memories for me all in one small package.  And to take it even a step further, Disney added a little extra pizazz to the piece…

The glow quality is really detailed (trust me on this one) and I will fully admit to lighting it up with a flashlight on occasion before going to sleep. This pin definitely takes center stage of my collection so far!

Which pin from your collection continues to have that WOW factor for you?

Posted on July 7, 2013, in Uncategorized and tagged , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink. 2 Comments.

  1. I love this post! New Orleans Square IS a really awesome area. Love it there! And you’ve got a cute pin for it, too. I don’t think I’ve seen that one before

  2. Thank you! I struck up a conversation with the seller. Turns out he is a former cast member who would purchase cast pins and put them away. It was a lucky find!

Leave a Reply

