The Cast Lanyard Experiment: Part 4 – Wilderness Badge

We continue the Cast Lanyard series with a VERY tough call on authentic vs NOT.

photo (3) photo (4)

Hidden Mickey Series Wilderness Explorer Wolf Howl Chaser.  Much like the Cinderella chaser that we examined yesterday, this chaser is a shiny metallic counterpart to the original wolf howl pin.  Let’s go through the checklist…

Is it smooth?  Yes, no burrs to report on this one.  Smooth all the way around minus a ding or two from its owners over the years.

Is it shiny?  Yes.  held side-by-side with the Cinderella pin, it exhibits the same effect as you move it around a light source.

Is the back pattern correct?  Yes.  It correctly indicates Hidden Mickey 10 of 20. It also has the Mickey waffle pattern without a border (meaning the Mickeys tend to “fall off” the ends without a noticeable edge). Also of note, PinPics indicates two nubs on the pin back, which this also has.

Looking good, right?

Maybe, maybe not.

I think my biggest concern is the weight of the pin.  When I hold both Cinderella and the wolf pin, the wolf is slightly lighter in weight.  Also when I examine the thickness of the pin, the wolf is slightly thinner.  Still, everything else looks as is should.

Basically when it comes down to it, I don’t have enough experience in chaser pins to know if there are other features that I should be looking for.  Also, Pinpics has not reports of scrappers on this pin.  So, at the end of the day, although I am a bit suspicious, I am going to chalk this one up as authentic…sorta.

SCRAPPER – 1

REAL: 2

Will authentic pins clinch the series?  Check back in!

Posted on August 7, 2013, in Uncategorized and tagged , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink. 3 Comments.

  1. Princess Belle

    I actually just purchased one of these off ebay… what do you think?

    • For mine at least, my gut tells me no. But based on the description and the few things I know to look for, it looks legit. I would be interested to hear about yours when you receive it and get your thoughts!

Leave a comment